• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.

Question on reloading for an AR?

Started by coyotehunter_1, May 26, 2007, 10:11:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

coyotehunter_1

I reload for my NEF Ultra in 223 using a standard full length resizing die but have never reloaded for an AR. I have a question... are small base dies needed for an AR type action or will standard dies work?  :confused:

Chet
Please visit our ol' buddies over at: http://www.easterncoyotes.com

Born and raised in the southern highlands of Appalachia, I'm just an ol' country boy who enjoys calling coyotes... nothing more, nothing less.

CCP

I use standard dies when loading  for my friends .223 AR and don't have a problem. My whisper is a hole nuther animal.
easterncoyotes.com

ccp@finsandfur.net

coyotehunter_1

Thanks, Rich !  :biggrin:
I have zero experience reloading for an AR.

I'll bet that little wildcat can be "fun" to reload for...  :wink:

Please visit our ol' buddies over at: http://www.easterncoyotes.com

Born and raised in the southern highlands of Appalachia, I'm just an ol' country boy who enjoys calling coyotes... nothing more, nothing less.

CCP

QuoteI'll bet that little wildcat can be "fun" to reload for...

One of the reasons I love it.

I seem to think there were many more here that could give input??

I think this forum may be to easily over looked :confused:
easterncoyotes.com

ccp@finsandfur.net

cb223

I use regular FL sizing dies for my AR's. The only problem I ran into was sizing to far, pushing the shoulder back to far. When fired it stretched the brass back out, basically over working the brass. It caused case head separation after only 2-3 loadings. I fixed it by getting a .223 case gauge and setting the die to the max. length of the gauge.

As far as feeding I've never had any problems.
CHAD

ohiobob