• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.
Main Menu

22-250vs 204

Started by fuzz624, November 20, 2006, 12:10:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

fuzz624

I keep hearing about how good the 204 is for coyotes.It seems to me that it would be a little light.Some people say that it has more stopping power than the 22-250.They also say that the 204 barrel life is better because it burns less powder.I dont see how either of thease could be true.I have always thought that speed is what burns up barrels.I also dont see how a 32 grain bullet can pack as much punch as a 50 grain.I want to know what you guys think.Thanks guys

Fuzz

studabaka

I'm no expert, but I have the same view as you...... however, in the right hands, under right curcumstances, with the right load, the 204 could do well and possibly be more fur friendly. My preferred choices are .223 and 22-250 and am considering a .243. I don't reload.... .223 is fairly cheap and available.
"If your argument can only be made or expressed by putting someone else down, then it probably ain't worth spit." -- MicheGoodStone SA Pro Staff

browning204

I have read alot of guys shooting 35+ grainers outta the .204 and having good results.

from what I understand, pin like entrance and it turns the insides to "tomato soup"

I have never shot a 22/250 but would like to.  I love the .204 so far on paper and it is fun to shoot, with the heavier bullets, you can watch your bullet impact through the scope.
FOXPRO, THE TRUE LEADER IN IMITATION!!!

Obamerica      GOD HELP US!

OKTrap

It is not the heavy grain packing the punch ... it is the lighter grain expanding faster than the heavier that has the takedown.

With the right load and lighter grain ... you can have more takedown with no exit in some instances. Where as ... with the heavier grain ... you can get an entrance and exit the same size since the heavier does not have time to expand if the target is in too close for you load.

Mallardsr