• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.
Main Menu

Broad Heads?

Started by cb223, September 16, 2007, 04:59:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cb223

I'm currently shopping for new broad heads. I've been shooting muzzys for a few years now. It's time for some new ones.

I'm leaning towards 1 1/2 - 1 3/4 inch expandables. They will be only for whitetails.

What does everyone else shoot and how do they preform?
CHAD

Coulter

I nhaven't shot my bow in years, but my buddy is an avid archer and he was tellinfg me about somne expandables that are relatively new. I think they are called Rage if I remember right. He said they don't use any rubberbands to keep the closed and only expand on impact leaving a nice sized hole in the other side of your deer. He also said they shoot just like a field tip, but they will tear up your 3-D target. If I ever get back into archery I would give them a try. Good luck,

Steve

Silencer

Dont know, I've been a Muzzy man since they come out with em  :biggrin:  Before Muzzy I was shooting Thunderheads.
I'm not a big fan of expandables, but if I were to try them it would be what Coulter suggested with the Rage's.

bowjunkie

I use rocky mountain premiers 75 grain on gold tip 7595xt's at 45 yards they blow through a bull elk with ease to bad they quit makin em never tried mech.  Some guys I know use em ,the old stile when they first came out worked well on broadside shots but quartering away sometimes the blades would try to open and deflect the arrow (and ya I have seen it happen )on a huge bull at 30 yrds, most of the newer ones seem to be better if I was switchin I would look at small replaceable blade fixed like RM titanium's or something along those lines

Ed

studabaka

I'm using Grim Reaper mechanicals this year...... No rubber bands and they do shoot like field tips...... Still need to see how they perform on a real hit... hopefully I will be able to advise that soon.