• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.
Main Menu

Archery buck 2023

Started by bigben, October 30, 2023, 08:38:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bigben

Not sure how many people know but I started shooting a recurve when one was gifted to me in late summer 2020.  Since then I hunted with a recurve.  As well as shot indoor and outdoor competitions with my recurve in barebow category.  Over the years I have had a lot of close calls but no animals harvested. 

This year has been somewhat different.  Archery season started and just stress from life kept me from enjoying my time outdoors.  The first day of archery came and i just needed to go sit in the woods.  I had a great morning seeing deer but no critters shot at or even any desire to draw back.  Warm temps took their toll on my hunts as well. I found myself getting into work early so I could leave to go hunt only to go home take a shower and veg out with the wife and the dog.  I have been doing a lot of soul searching and one thing that hit home with me was a podcast with a fella named Scott Moore.  The jest of it was to make sure your spending your time where it matters and life will reward you.  That resonated with me so when I was with family and friends I made sure my mind and thoughts were present not thinking about how I should be out hunting etc. 

Sat i found myself in my favorite piece of woods.  The morning was fairly slow.  I seen nothing but squirrels.  I was sitting on the ground which i do because I don't feel safe sitting in a treestand.  I had already moved once and i heard a commotion.  A group of does got scattered and i noticed one was being chased.  After awhile  she came past seemingly shaking whatever was chasing.  Shortly after a set of small bucks came past.  One spike and one barely legal fork horn.  I watched them move off and decided that I was going to hunt the afternoon since there appeared to be a hot doe in the area.