• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.
Main Menu

-400%....

Started by centerfire_223, October 02, 2010, 09:48:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

centerfire_223

I finally got out and started my 2010 season off this morning.

First stand of the year, I went to a place that I have killed several coyotes in years past but this year it has grown up a little more than normal. I wasn't really satisfied of my stand location when I sat down but it has always worked out. I took out a call that I have never used before, the crack pipes twin brother. Within 5 seconds I had a really really dark coyote come blasting in running Mach IV. He came through so fast I couldn't even get the shotgun on him. As I got up on my knees to see over the little rise in the ground, I saw two more take off. So first stand of the year, 3 coyotes called up and 0 killed; -300%!

As I moved to the next stand I had a coyote barking like crazy at me. I knew these coyotes never winded me, so I was positive they had no idea as to what spooked them. I moved on down to another stand I always and low and behold it is grown up too. This farmer is going to have to do some bush hogging. Now I was in a dilemma, find another stand or call this one from on my knees. With a coyote barking like crazy at me, I choose the knees really quick.

I started this stand out with some barks and then give it a challenge howl. Boy did that piss him off, he came charging up out of the thicket and gave me a piece of his mind. If I had of been sitting down where I could have a more solid rest I could have gotten the shot. But I didn't want to take the chance on making one smarter than they already are, so I choose not to shoot. This dog stayed down there chewing me out for at least 2 minutes. I have never had a coyote out here talk so much for so long. You could really tell he was mad.

Anyway 2 stands, 4 coyotes, 0 shoots= -400%. Hopefully the next time will be better in the killing percentage. 
Ronnie Cannon

------------->-