• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.
Main Menu

Trout Magnets

Started by msmith, January 03, 2021, 06:39:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

msmith

Anybody use these?

I have been using them for a several years now and if I don't have anything else I know I'm still gonna have fun.

Not only are they great for trout, they are my go to for bluegill, rockbass, kentucky spotted, and perch. They work great for crappie too but when I get in to a school of crappie I switch over to...Crappie Magnets. Same thing only a little bigger.

90% of the time I use a float, also by Trout Magnet, set the depth and cast. In whitewater trout streams I just let it float and the waves give it a jigging motion. In lakes when I target bluegill, redear, and perch, I cast out and let it sit a few seconds then give it a pop, sit, pop, sit pop. Works good.

I'm getting stoked to hit the trout streams and lake fishing for gills, crappie, and perch.  :eyebrow:
Mike

Aut Vinceri Aut Mori

nastygunz

I use them on a fly rod and they are deadly!  Also an ultra light pole with a Thingamabobber float.  The float technique that you use with trout magnets can also be used with flies so you can fly fish with a spinning rod.

msmith

Quote from: nastygunz on January 03, 2021, 11:53:43 PM
I use them on a fly rod and they are deadly!  Also an ultra light pole with a Thingamabobber float.  The float technique that you use with trout magnets can also be used with flies so you can fly fish with a spinning rod.

My son likes to fly fish (I haven't practiced with my fly rod much) and uses a mini magnet. I hadn't thought about using a float to fly fish with a spinning reel.

Trout Magnet also has some rods and rod/reel combos that are great for trout and panfish. The Trout Slayer is very nice and very light. The SLS (sore lip series) is also a solid rod. I have had both and use the latter just because Ima cheap ol fart and tight as bark on a tree.