• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.
Main Menu

Snappers !!!!

Started by cb223, July 05, 2007, 09:00:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cb223

How many of you guys go after snappers (TURTLES) for table fare? Do you fish them or trap them?

I went fishing for them with a friend of mine. We caught 3 of them in 2 hours. The biggest one had a 16" shell. I've never done this before but he told me they were good!!! So I went. We just used a treble hook with a little bacon wrapped around it and left it sitting on the bottom. It seemed to work very well because we caught other fish also!

It was alot of fun!!!

What's a good recipe?

CHAD

FinsnFur

Cant say I ever have.
My dad talks about it all the time, but after hearing some of the gore storys that went with it since I was 10 years old, kinda shied me from becoming interested enough to do it.
Fins and Fur Web Hosting

Custom built websites, commercial/personal
   Online Stores
   Domain Names
   Domain Transfers
   Free site maintenance & updates

http://finsandfurhosting.com

keekee

Well, I grew up noodling for them from the time I could walk to were they had to carry me threw the deep holes till I was in my late 20's. After my grand dad got to were he could not go anymore due to health reasons I kind of quit.

Now I just set bank lines to get them or jugs. Just enough to put in some table fair.

As for eating them, there awesome! All we do is clean them up real good roll the in flower and deep fry them till they are crisp. Fix a big salad, and some Zesta crackers and were good to go!

Say? What ya doing with the shells?

Brent

cb223

Brent,   

Do you have all your fingers? There is no friggin way I would dig around in the mud for a snapper!!!!

My friend cleaned them, I assume he dumped them but I'll check. If I go again I'll save them if you want.

What do you do with them?
CHAD

keekee

Nope! I am missing part of a finger! But its not from a turtle...lol