• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.

So when is enough, enough?

Started by bushmaster, May 04, 2009, 10:14:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bushmaster

My biggest gun is a .338 win mag and i only shoot reloads through it.  Accuracy has been a breeze from the get-go and i have had no issues with the cartridges.  I've reloaded 300 cases 4 times now and they still look great.  However, considering the power of this caliber i am deathly afraid of overlooking the possibility of a head separation. Actually, any rupture scares the crap out of me.  So what i'm lookin to hear from you guys is this.  WHEN DO YOU KNOW FOR CERTAIN THAT ITS TIME TO RETIRE YOUR CASES??
"Depart from evil, and do good; seek peace, and pursue it." -PSALM 34--14

Integrity of character and clarity of thought are vital to quality of life.

5 SHOTS

I'm not an expert but the .338 is a belted case. They head space on the belt and do not stretch nearly as much as a rimless case. Their life is considerably longer if the dies are adjusted right. I think the necks will crack before you get head separation. but remember, I'm no expert.
sometimes I wonder....is that getting closer..... then it hits me

I had a personal conflict the other day, now I'm not speaking to myself.... I'm getting lonesome

I met the girl of my dreams, I was the man of her dreams too.....she used the term "nightmares" though.

FinsnFur

I've wondered the same thing about my own brass.
I dont reload, I got a guy that does it all for me but, I've asked a few times already...dont ya think we should get some new brass? :confused:
Fins and Fur Web Hosting

Custom built websites, commercial/personal
   Online Stores
   Domain Names
   Domain Transfers
   Free site maintenance & updates

http://finsandfurhosting.com

alscalls

I checked on new brass for my 6mm and it was over $50 for a hundred now that Obutthead is pres. :rolleye:
AL

http://alscalls.googlepages.com/alscalls

bushmaster

i FEEL FOR YA AL.