• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.

camp dry mink oil

Started by bigben, November 12, 2008, 09:01:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bigben

well I have been wearing a pair of rocky boots for about 4 years now and the waterproof coating they claim that are on these boots have gave up the ghost a long time ago.  so I decided that this year I was not going to be hunting with wet feet again.  so I sought out and searched for a suitable replacement to what I used to use on my hunting boots and came up with this.

this is kiwi's description of this product
Camp Dry Mink Oil contains a multi-refined oil of mink that penetrates deeply into leather, restoring natural oils while conditioning and waterproofing. Recommended for use on outdoor work and sport boots. Keeps leather soft, supple and waterproof.

the directions that came on the container pretty much said to message the product into the leather.  well the way I did it was a bit different.  I used to use a product called snow seal which is a beeswax product but when you put it on your boots I swore they weighed ten lbs heavier.  we used to put it on by smearing this beeswax substance which kinda looked like vasaline onto our boots.  then stuck them next to the fireplace and let the wax melt into the leather.  well since I did not have a fireplace at my disposal and needed to get my boots done I grabbed the heat gun from work.