• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.
Main Menu

Triple Deuce or .204?

Started by Coulter, December 09, 2016, 06:17:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Coulter

I'm looking into a new firearm for yotes and fox. Seriously veering towards the .222, but realize I'll have to get into some reloading with that round. That's not necessarily a bad thing though. The other contender is the .204. I already have a 250, but it's a Ruger No.1 single shot deal. After last years debacle at LBL I want to have a follow up round or two. I already have an AR in .223, but I just prefer hunting with bolt actions.

So thoughts? comments? Pro's? Con's?

slagmaker

Take the guess work out and get both!

In all seriousness tho, I have wanted the Ruger 204 but I have no experience with either.
Don't bring shame to our sport.

He died for dipshits too.

HaMeR

I've only shot 4 or 5 coyotes with my 204 & the furthest one traveled maybe 20yds after the hit. I love the 204 but I went with the 223 in case I forgot my ammo on a road trip. That stuff is everywhere & in a wide variety. HTH
Glen

RIP Russ,Blaine,Darrell

http://brightwoodturnings.com

2014-15 TBC-- 11

riverboss

Both great choices! I to am considering a 204 but in ar platform.
My take on is since I already have 22-250 and 223 that I love hunting with was try something else.
I reload so it much simpler for me.
Its hard to beat a 223 with all the avalible loads you can buy!
But I see just as much 204 around here. Only thing is I like me heavier bullets and the 204 stops around 40 gr and wind can really play with that stuff.
A new 250 would take care of all of that and cover both ends. Good luck.

Sent from my BLU STUDIO 5.0 C HD using Tapatalk

bigben

Id go .223. Easier to find ammo and with the right bullet i have found its pretty decent on both fox and coyotes