Main Menu

Recent posts

Non Hunting/Fishing Photos / Re: Sunset addiction
Last post by Hawks Feather - Yesterday at 07:07:18 PM
Looks nice and good footage. I think you need a new drone and you could just give me that old one. 😉
Non Hunting/Fishing Photos / Re: Sunset addiction
Last post by FinsnFur - Yesterday at 06:57:44 PM
The DJI doin what it does best. I love this video. The only thing that would have made it better was if when I stopped I would have lifted high enough to see the sun over those hilltops. I wish I would have done that. I'm still learning this LOL

The Tailgate / Re: Meme of the Day
Last post by JohnP - Yesterday at 10:42:47 AM
The Tailgate / Today in history 8-18
Last post by remrogers - Yesterday at 09:34:23 AM
August 18
Yangtze River peaks in China

On August 18, 1931, the Yangtze River in China peaks during a horrible flood that kills 3.7 million people directly and indirectly over the next several months. This was perhaps the worst natural disaster of the 20th century.

The Yangtze River runs through southern China, one of the most populated areas on Earth. The region's people, most of whom lived at subsistence level, depended on the river for water for their personal and farming needs. In April, the river-basin area received far-above-average rainfall. When torrential rains came again in July, the stage was set for disaster. The Yangtze flooded over a 500-square-mile area. The rising waters drove 500,000 people from their homes by the beginning of August.

As the waters continued to rise in the first half of August and even more rain fell, the rice fields that dominated the landscape were swamped, destroying the crop. Major cities such as Wuhan and Nanjing depended on this rice and, without it, people in the cities starved to death. In addition, typhoid and dysentery were rampant due to the polluted river. The millions who died from this flood perished from starvation and disease, many after the flood waters had receded.