• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.

Tips for using a howler

Started by clubmkred, March 22, 2011, 07:40:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

clubmkred

Hello everyone,

Can you guys give me some tips on how to use a howler? I have one of Al's Calls Howlers and a Reese Dog Howler and can't howl for beans...

I am new to hand calls, so I have been limited to distress sounds thus far.

I can't get a good howl to save my life. My howls are very "choppy"... rough... whatever you want to call it, but it is not smooth like the sounds that I hear on all of the examples...

Can anyone give me some tips or pointers for using a howler? How hard to blow, position on the tone board, etc... I need the basics, and then some...

Thanks,

Ed

bigben

first off your gonna have to practice a bunch.  I know right now you think it might sound bad but your never gonna get better without practicing. 

a few tips.  Try to use your diaphram to force through the call.  I have better air control when using my diaphram compared to puffin my cheeks up and blowing hard. 

try holding the howler at different angles.  also try using your top lip rolled over your teeth on the top of the reed. 

the position on the tone board is gonna be based on how hard you blow and the type of call.  The only way to know where to place your lips/teeth on the toneboard is practice.  sorry I couldn't help out anymore but its something that you kinda fall into your own unless you can get personal instruction.
"If you want to know all about a man, go camping with him. Probably you think you know him already, but if you have never camped on the trail with him, you do not". Eldred Nathaniel Woodcock. Fifty Years a Hunter and Trapper.

clubmkred

Thanks for the tips...

I tried the teeth, I tried the lips, but I didn't try the lip rolled over the teeth. Yet.