• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.

What the L did I see tonight ?

Started by bambam, March 01, 2014, 11:07:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bambam

OK guys. I've been hunting for over 40 years. Spent thousands of nights in the woods coon huntin, and hundreds of nights calling predators.

Never, ever saw a set of red eyes at night.

Until tonight.
My brother and I were trying to call in a yote. using a grey fox pup call. On our last stand, He shined the light and we saw a single red "eye ". I figured it was a reflector from a 4 wheeler or farm machinery that our other brother had moved, since we were on my grandma's farm.

Then there were 2 eyes.

Before I could raise the gun they disappeared. We kept calling and they re-appeared about 20 yards away, in some cedar brush. Gone again before I could get on them. Red as red can be.

They were the width of a fox or yote, but blood red. Any ideas what it could of been ?

No we weren't drunk.

FinsnFur

Most rodents eyes glow red under light, if I remember. Squirrel, possum, even rabbit.
Fins and Fur Web Hosting

Custom built websites, commercial/personal
   Online Stores
   Domain Names
   Domain Transfers
   Free site maintenance & updates

http://finsandfurhosting.com

FOsteology

slagmaker

rabbit.

we used to shine rabbits in our yard during hard times. they glow red. you usually only see one eye at a time but when they look straight at you. if you keep the light on them they shy up and move away.
Don't bring shame to our sport.

He died for dipshits too.

bambam

too wide for a rabbit. too bright too.

bambam

and also not an orange color like a rabbit. blood red, and large . way too big for a rabbit.

slagmaker

Don't bring shame to our sport.

He died for dipshits too.

Carolina Coyote

Okanagan

Racoon eyes show red sometimes.  But you fellows would be more familiar with them than I am.

JohnP

Call that TV program "In Search of Bigfoot" they'll come down and figure it out for ya.