• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.
Main Menu

ANOTHER CROW SHOW

Started by nastygunz, September 26, 2009, 08:09:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nastygunz

THERE ISNT MUCH FUNNER HUNTING IN MY HUMBLE OPINION THEN MATCHING WITS WITH THE WILY CROW...I WENT OUT THIS AFTERNOON FOR A HUNT AND WAS SUCCESSFUL WITH 4 BIRDS DROPPED...IT WAS WINDY OUT WHICH USUALLY KEEPS THEM HIGHER UP..DIDNT SEE ANY BIG BUNCHES, JUST 1-2-3 AT A TIME...I USED MY FX3 AND OWL DECOY WITH A MOTION DECOY I MADE OUT OF A SOUND ACTIVATED HALLOWEEN TOY THAT SEEMED TO WORK PRETTY WELL...I DROPPED 3 IN THE FIELD AND ONE IN THE CORN...BEAUTIFUL FALL DAY!

KySongDog

What sound were you using? 

nastygunz

Today all I used was the Foxpro crow fight sound....it is deadly on them, Ive been using for for a few years and my other best sound is the Johnny Stewart death cry of a crow...the Foxpro death cry is good too...but the crow fight just seems to get them pissed off and spoiling for a fight...especially when it gets colder and they are in bigger flocks they seem way more aggressive. :yoyo:

KySongDog

I've got some crow sounds on my Minaska.  I may have to give that a try.    The season is in now in KY.   Thanks.

JohnP

I may have to take some time out of my busy schedule and give them a try.   They always come in when I calling predators and in fact have brought coyotes in with them.  What size shot and choke do you use?
When they come for mine they better bring theirs

KySongDog

#6 or #5 shot with a full choke should work, me thinks.   Or maybe a modified choke depending on how close they get.  I know they are tougher to knock down than doves so will just have to see what works best.   :wo:

nastygunz