• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.

Need some help please ...

Started by GunDog, December 17, 2009, 07:01:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GunDog

I'm fairly new to the reloading scene. I have four buddies here locally that load with lots of experience and have three different opinions from them already. Two of them are bench shooters, and they don't agree on everything either. We've loaded shot-shells before but never any rifle ammo. I'm looking to set my sons up with a complete outfit - would like a decent one, to load different calibers. Rifle & pistol.

Checking out the different presses online it looks like we can get a good setup "started"  @ Bass Pro here in Macon. They have the complete Hornady Kit, Lyman Kit, or RCBS Kits already put together. With that add all other goodies and be on our way. Was kinda wanting to stay with one name brand for everything?

I need to know the facts on carbide die sets or steel ones, and two or three piece sets? What's best and why? I know the carbides are lot higher in price! Assuming carbide will "out last" the steel, will it actually load a better round?  I was thinking of maybe buying the carbide for the guns we use the most and maybe steel for the pistols and less active rifles?

Next what press would you get? Sitting around a bench with my buddies loading on single stage presses I kind of like the idea of a progressive press, like my shot-shell reloaders. Of the one's mentioned I think the Lyman T Mag Expert is the only one I see that is progressive. Don't want to spend the money on a Dillon just yet.

What do you fellers with all the experience recommend and why please? Thanks in advance for any input into this thread!

johnoh