• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.

anything like this ever happen to you?

Started by 5 SHOTS, June 14, 2009, 10:45:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

5 SHOTS

I had a close call today. It is a little sketchy, but I will try to describe it exactly as it happened.
                  I am a truck driver in the oilfield. I have been carrying a small closed reed call in my pocket for those times when I'm loading and have some time to waste.

Today was just such a day. I decided to walk to the edge of the location and try to call a coyote. I put the call to my lips, blew and before I finished the first painful, scared, rabbit scream there was an explosion of movement about 20 or 30 yards in front of me. When something like this happens your first instinct is to determine possible danger. To do this you first must identify the animal then you must identify it's reaction, is it preparing to fight or flee. This animal was definitely moving toward me. I could tell it was grey. Meanwhile the animal had accelerated to nearly supersonic speed. I had yet to identify the animal but my mind had begun to speculate. Was it a wolf, or maybe a mountain lion, no, mountain lions are not grey, a bear, no, unless a black bear and a polar bear had some mutant grey offspring and it decided to migrate to a warmer climate,  or even a T rex, what color was a T rex? I have never heard of a grey T rex sighting locally, but any T rex in his right mind wouldn't leave any witnesses to report on his whereabouts and possibly warn any future food supply.