• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.

Cable Restraints

Started by zack.klan, September 25, 2016, 07:54:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

zack.klan

This is my first year of trapping in North Western PA. Yesterday I took my cable restraint certification.

I know what I need to construct the restraints, how to set them up, and some ideas of where to set them up.

Does anyone else use cable restraints for coyote and fox? If so, what methods do you use? Where do you put your sets at and how do you determine where?

Any tips, hints, or tricks would be much appreciated.
Zack

FinsnFur

I surprised no one replied in here. I'm not sure there's too many trappers that hang here. Heck trappers are a dying breed all together which is kind of a shame. I wish there were more like there used to be. Most trappers are pure outdoorsman, unmatched by many.
Fence lines and corner posts is about all the info I can give you. I dont trap personally, dont have the time, but I was around it for years as my brother has actually made truck payments trapping before.
Look for hair caught in the lower run of barbwire indicating a place where they cross. Look for paths in the vegetation leading to it, etc.
I'm sure you know this, but hair in the top runs usually means jumping deer.
Fins and Fur Web Hosting

Custom built websites, commercial/personal
   Online Stores
   Domain Names
   Domain Transfers
   Free site maintenance & updates

http://finsandfurhosting.com

Coulter

Quotetrappers are a dying breed all together

C'mon now Jim...I ain't dead yet man! In all honesty a lot of "trappers" just go into hibernation when the market goes down. They're still out there, but they aren't really the "Pure outdoorsman, unmatched by many" that you speak of.