• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.
Main Menu

Maitakes!

Started by Dave, August 13, 2013, 09:12:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dave

Dante was out scouring the woods and came across a vein of Maitake mushrooms (also called "Hen of the Woods").  This one sat in the sink overnight and seemed a little tough (I'm kind of new to mushrooming - we had tried it last year, but only found old, tough ones).  He said there were a bunch of others growing around this one, but he only took one.

I sent him back down this evening for another one to sauté fresh.

How's this look!

It was really good.  A little olive oil and garlic in the cast iron for a few minutes, then added the mushrooms.  Sprinkled a little salt and then some brown sugar and soy sauce.  I liked it that way and took half out of the pan.  The other half I finished off with a little red wine and thought that was also outstanding. 
He'll be harvesting some more tomorrow!

Hawks Feather

It does look good and is making me hungry.

Jerry

Dave

I had him take me down last night to show me them.  Here's are a few of the half dozen or so.

The foot is in there for size.

FinsnFur

I'm with Jerry, that looks deelish in the pan...but I dont think I'd be able to successfully find and pick them. Wrong types of mushrooms spooks the crap out of me.
I know Morels and will hunt and pick those...but thats the extent of it.
Fins and Fur Web Hosting

Custom built websites, commercial/personal
   Online Stores
   Domain Names
   Domain Transfers
   Free site maintenance & updates

http://finsandfurhosting.com

Dave

Quote from: FinsnFur on August 13, 2013, 10:10:25 PM
I'm with Jerry, that looks deelish in the pan...but I dont think I'd be able to successfully find and pick them. Wrong types of mushrooms spooks the crap out of me.
I know Morels and will hunt and pick those...but thats the extent of it.