• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.
Main Menu

Shotgun help

Started by Frogman, September 10, 2008, 04:01:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Frogman

Hey guys,
      I'm trying to get my shotgun ready for coyote hunting.  I have a combat type Remington 870 that I bought to shoot 3 gun matches with.  I really like this gun but the barrel has no choke.  It would be next to worthless out beyond about 25 or 30 yards.  It does shoot slugs really well.

Here is a photo . . . .

I just bought a new 870 barrell for this gun.  It is a 20 inch with rifle sights and an Improved Cylinder Rem choke installed.  I have been reading other threads about some of your experiences and patterns with differnet chokes.  I haven't even changed out this new barrell yet.  I'm looking for suggestions as to what choke tube to purchase that would be good for coyotes.   In WV we are restrictied to number 4 shot during the night hunting season.  I think other shot is acceptable the rest of the time.   I would like to use No. 4 buck.  I'm thinking the Remington Double Full Turkey choke might do the trick??  What do you guys think??  Any suggestions??

Jim
You can't kill 'em from the recliner!!

possumal

I can't give you much info on this, Jim.  I have killed 5 or 6 with my Rem. 870 with the turkey barrel, xful choke, shooting the Rem. duplex 4-6 shells. The farthest I have shot one was about 45 yards with him running sideways, and it rolled him graveyard dead. I am confident that the number 4 shot with that barrel will do a number on coyotes up to 50 yds on an open shot.
Al Prather
Foxpro Field Staff

alscalls

Is buying another barrel an option Jim?
AL

http://alscalls.googlepages.com/alscalls

Frogman

I don't know Al, I haven't even taken this one out of the box.  I wanted one with the rifle sights and the interchangable choke tubes.  This one seemed the only option.

Jim

Kuipdog