• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.
Main Menu

grey fox distress call

Started by frshwtr, October 19, 2007, 08:11:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

frshwtr

as stated before i'm kinda new to the call game; one of the better tapes for callin grey fox in this area (probably in others also) is a grey fox pup in distress. lots of companies made them in cassett tape. well i was wondering if there was a call on the market that could be used (with practice) to duplicate this tape and if so what call would be recomended.

FinsnFur

My assumption would be that almost any call could be used to mimic the sound.
Keep in mind that I'm saying that without having any idea what tape your referring to. But with enough practice, and using the tape as a reference, I think you could get it licked on your favorite call or the call of your choice in a short amount of time

Heck...look at Arky playin Star Spangled Banner on his  :wink:
Fins and Fur Web Hosting

Custom built websites, commercial/personal
   Online Stores
   Domain Names
   Domain Transfers
   Free site maintenance & updates

http://finsandfurhosting.com

THO Game Calls

I aagree with Jim that with practice you can make a lot of sounds on a call.

Is this the tape that has the whines and growls on it?   Anyway, I am thinking I have heard this sound from Johnny Stewart in the past.  The hard part is going to be the growls and barks if so.

I have about 300 sounds on my computer and I think there are some gray fox sounds in with them.  I will see what I can find and try and give you a better idea later.

It's also possible sometimes to make a call that will do just one sound.   I make some open reeds like that.  I sent one to CCP that all it does is meow sounds of a cat.  It will do other stuff, but not as well as a call tuned to be a standard open reed.  So the possability is to get a call that does what you want it to.  I will look around today and try to reply by this afternoon.

AL