Author Topic: Question about some small Rifle primers  (Read 1309 times)

Offline Hidehunter

• FnF Life Member
  • So hows that HOPE and CHANGE working out for you?
Question about some small Rifle primers
« on: January 03, 2013, 04:17:38 PM »
Well i loaded up a 150 rds of 9mm and used small rifle bench primers. I know you can use small rifle primers and my Ruger RS 9 shoots them great. All i had was the bench primers and never really thought about havin any problems. Well i was getting 3 out of 5 missfires. Have any of you tried bench primers or do I have a bad batch of primers? Ive had them for a couple years but just havent used any of them. Guess Im gonna go start pulling bullets  :sad2:
Denver                                           

visitors can't see pics , please register or login

Offline riverboss

• FnF Life Member
Re: Question about some small Rifle primers
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2013, 05:13:48 PM »
Im no expert but it sounds like youve got some bad primers, If regular small rifle will work they should be fine to use.

Offline CCP

• Global Moderator
  • FinsandFur member
    • easterncoyotes.com
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2013, 05:31:09 PM »
  Rifle BR primers are thicker and may be  your problem in the pistol. I have shot BR rifle primers in revolvers with no problems but had trouble with them in a P08 I had and haven't tried them in any auto loader again. It was only like 2 out of 50 that didn't go bang but that was enough for me.

I use small magnum pistol primers in my AR and have been told I could have a possible slam fire because of the thinner cup but no issues so far.

« Last Edit: January 03, 2013, 05:55:53 PM by CCP »
easterncoyotes.com

ccp@finsandfur.net

Offline Hidehunter

• FnF Life Member
  • So hows that HOPE and CHANGE working out for you?
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2013, 05:53:43 PM »
  Rifle BR primers are thicker

I believe thats my problem right there
Denver