• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.
Main Menu

Coyotes in NNY

Started by northern coyote, December 28, 2007, 06:31:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

northern coyote

Any of Yall ever tried callin' up in Northern New York? 
i'm new to calling (started 1yr ago) but still have yet to get a full blown response from even a fox.
I'm learnin' and I've got nothin' but time

northern coyote

is there anything specific that i should be trying?
I've not called the same spots twice in a row yet and I'm watchin the wind, but nuthin is comin to the call but a couple of deer now and again

HaMeR

Is it heavily wooded or thick?? You might be calling them in & getting circled!! I believe here in the East we call more than we ever see.  One things for certain tho,,, you won't kill em from the couch!! :biggrin:  As long as something is responding then something is being done right. Keep at it!! :wink:
Glen

RIP Russ,Blaine,Darrell

http://brightwoodturnings.com

2014-15 TBC-- 11

FinsnFur

10-4...and another thing to remember is that more times then we want to admit, a coyote will come in and hang up unseen.
You dont see the coyote, so you think you failed. Treat every stand as though there's coyotes watching. Approach and exit as undetected as possible.

Also...coyotes are hardcore sight hounds, they can pick up the movement of a single leaf fluttering from quite a distance. Sit still, still still, and remember always sit still.  :wink:
Fins and Fur Web Hosting

Custom built websites, commercial/personal
   Online Stores
   Domain Names
   Domain Transfers
   Free site maintenance & updates

http://finsandfurhosting.com

THO Game Calls

How much snow do you have on the ground?

Are you seeing any sign?