• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.

Mt. Lion Hunters - What's your pick in a rifle?

Started by THO Game Calls, May 21, 2008, 07:43:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

THO Game Calls

Serious question - not meant to start a My 17 HMR will kill a lion thing.

I have little if any experience with Mt Lions, but will be hunting them this year and am wondering if the 243 is enough, or take a 270, 308 or what? 

My 270 is too long in the barrel to be a good brush gun, the 308 is a carbine.  The 243 is also a short barreled gun.  I wont consider an AR type weapon just because I get too many flash backs from the old days in the Corps  :nono: 

But what ever one I choose, unless of course it is the 243 I want to start doing a bit more shooting with it this summer to be ready.  I honestly do not shoot anything other than the 243 and 12 gauge on a regular basis so I want to get in some quality range time with what I am going to be using. 

Any help would be appreciated.

Al
Become one of 'The Hunted Ones' with a THO Game Call
Handcrafted Collector Quality - Field Proven Results

pitw

I haven't shot a mountain lion but do beleive that what ever gun you are comfortable with is the best one to take.  I have shot all my moose, two elk and well over hundred deer and maybe 500 coyotes with my savage 243.  I have a lot of guns but when I want to make sure of my shot I take the gun that I am the most familiar with.  Played with pretty much all the 22 caliber rifles for coyotes and missed a lot in the field and a good hunting buddy said one day "go get your damb 243 so we can kill something".
I say what I think not think what I say.

THO Game Calls

Well I am pretty comforatable with the 243 but I darn sure would not shoot a moose with it.  Nor would I shoot a black bear with it, unless I had too.  I am sure it might kill one, but there are better choices, and chosies are what I am looking for. 

Thank for the input

Al

HaMeR