• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.

So you want to hunt coyotes.

Started by FinsnFur, December 31, 2006, 01:41:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

FinsnFur

Please do not make comments or questions on this thread, by replying to it. If you have questions or comments feel free to start a new topic.
We'd like to keep this thread for reference and will be adding to it over time.

Different views to the I've never been coyote hunting, where do I start?, questions.

I don't consider myself famous, and I'm far from a pro but here's what I have to offer.

Get yourself some distress calls, and possibly a howler. There's several different models and styles available here on the board in the Call Store, and on most of the other hunting boards on the net.

We have some distress sounds threads that will give you a goods heads up as to what type of sounds your going to be trying to make. Go through those, and  practice, practice practice.

When you feel pretty confident with your calls, I would start talking to some farmers or ranch owners where you plan to hunt and find out where they are seeing or hearing coyotes. Log some times and locations so you have something to refer back to.

Get an aerial map of the area and mark the locations you have logged. Then strategically plan out some approaches to these areas, and possible areas the coyotes will be using to travel to and from them. They like cover, fencerows, creekbeds,  edges, etc.

It's a good idea to have the wind in your face when entering a calling area, that way your human scent is being carried out behind you and your not giving everything in the area a heads up that your coming.

When you set up, I feel crosswinds are the best. A coyote will usually try to circle downwind so he can pick your scent up. Make sure you can see your downwind side without making a lot of movement.