• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.
Main Menu

KO "Darkness"

Started by CCP, April 07, 2007, 07:03:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

CCP

KO Predator Solutions

The "Darkness" By Richard Baxter

As a predator hunter I find myself looking for different calls to give me the edge I need in the field. There are so many products out there it can get confusing sometimes. After many years of trial and error I settled on a few custom calls and dabble with a few production calls from time to time. I usually find they are junk or I have to customize them to fit my taste. So you can see I was reluctant to try a new production call.

After several phone conversations and e-mails from people using the KO Predator Solutions line of calls I gave in. I sent off an E-mail to Loren Reese for a few of his calls. After receiving my calls I threw them in the truck so I could play with them while driving from day to day.

The first call I started playing with was the Darkness. It is very pleasing to the eye; small smooth lines an eye catcher for sure. I first started off holding tight on the tip of the reed for some high pitched sounds and I got nothing. I put pressure on the reed and continued on up the reed and still nothing. I thought to myself "another production call- here we go again". Well I just couldn't help, it every time I got in the truck I would play with that call. I would tell myself it's just too good-looking a call to not have a good sound.

For those of you out there laughing at me about now...well yes, I figured it out. This isn't your ordinary production open reed; there is no need to hold pressure on the reed. You just insert the call and blow. You don't even have to blow hard to make this baby scream the bunny blues. After trying to make something hard out of something easy I continued to play with this call. If I put my lips to the far end of the reed . and blow I get a higher pitched distress SOUND than if I hold it all the way in my mouth . SOUND