All gave some and some gave all
And some stood through for the red, white and blue
And some had to fall
And if you ever think of me
Think of all your liberties and recall
Some gave all "

Billy Ray Cyrus "Some Gave All"

FOsteology

Looking back on my life I suppose I was tempered in the fires of military service as both a military brat (Father was a career soldier) and as a soldier. I am thankful for the privilege I had to serve our country. I did my small part, and helped to maintain the shield of freedom that my loved ones and countrymen could enjoy. I am a Veteran, but consider my service in many respects to be "second class". I did all that was asked of me, and did it well, but the questions that were asked were easy, and I served primarily during a time of peace.

I was never handed live ammunition and placed in a position to use it. I was never sent on an assignment where there was a real possibility that I might not return. For me, a duty assignment to another country meant meeting new people, and experiencing new foods and new cultures. To some however, the assignments given meant being in harm’s way, and they willingly went, some never to return....

All throughout our nation’s history, there have been those who would take away our freedoms, and during those times, men and women have volunteered to stand between our nation and those who would change it. They knew that it might cost them their life, but loved our nation and its principles so much that they went anyway.

This Memorial Day, I pause to pay respect to and reflect upon the sacrifices made by those who never came back. They stood in defense of Liberty. As a Veteran, my greatest level of respect and honor goes to them. Today, my children grow in the freedoms that I enjoyed in my youth, because men and women gave their lives to guarantee those freedoms. 

nastygunz

" This Memorial Day, I pause to pay respect to and reflect upon the sacrifices made by those who never came back. "