• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.
Main Menu

Lure Help

Started by DirtyDog, January 04, 2008, 05:20:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DirtyDog

Well.....I am almost ready to get my first sets out there. So now comes the lure questions.

I am pretty new at this, and have gotten a lot of help from Brent (thanks by the way) and am only going to be setting out 3 traps (8 tops, but not including the snares) because thats all I have. What lure might work best with a dirthole set that will get me coyotes fox and bobcats and help maybe to avoid coons and such. Anyone have any good suggestions?

I also will be putting out a few coon sets, but am not sure if I should use a dirthole for them also. I have heard to just use sardines on them. Does anyone have an opinion on this?

Thanks
DD

keekee

There is allot of good lure out there. But most of them will draw coons even to dirt holes.  Here is a list of several I keep in the bucket all the time:

Pros's Choice
Canine Call
Miranda's Farm land fox
Lenons Super fox all call
Gusto's

These have done real well for me, I just started using the Lenons fox lure and Beaver Castor lure and both have done a real fine job I will be buying more lures from Lenons to try. The other I have ran for years and have never let me down. Just good solid lures and well proved.

For Coons and Mink fresh fish is good but if your going to buy bait just pick up some cans of Jack Mack rel. Add a small amount in the back of the pocket or hole and a shot of shell fish oil and your good to go.

Cats im not much help on, what little bit of cat trapping I have done I used a Cat glad lure, and urine. The cat glad lure works well for Fox and Coyotes as well.