• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.
Main Menu

Fox questions.

Started by BANDITT, January 20, 2007, 04:28:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BANDITT

Hi everyone. Couple questions about fox behavior.

The land I hunt on is covered with fox tracks, and from finding tufts of hair where they have crossed under barb wire fences I can tell they're red fox. I also found a den, with very fresh tracks going in and out of it (the den is  on the side of a hill in a small woodlot.)  I'm fairly new to predator hunting, but have had no luck calling anything in, except for hawks, raccoons, and sometimes house cats. Never have called in a fox or coyote. I've heard that fox den up during the night, and come out during the day to avoid coyotes, but am not sure how true this is. IMHO I don't think this certain area has many coyotes at all, but definitely plenty of fox.

So my questions are: since I know where the den is, and since calling hasn't been successful, would sitting near and watching the den entrance work?  When would be the best time to watch it? In your experiences is it true fox are more active during the day rather than the night time? The only calling I've done so far near this area has been daytime, and I'm wondering if the fox are in their dens,  would they come out to investigate a call?

Night hunting here is legal, and we can use lights, but can only turn them on at the point of kill...absolutely no scanning with the light is allowed.  :iroll:  What a stupid law. So this basically means hunting at night is pointless unless we have a full moon and snowcover, which happens maybe twice a year. :madd: I've always figured that if I'm out there in the dark calling and can't see a thing, all I'm doing is educating the critters. And it's kind of hard to turn the light on at the point of kill when you have no idea if anything is there to kill anyway!!! :confused: :madd: