• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.

From a newbie, a couple of calls to view

Started by Braz, May 02, 2007, 11:45:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Braz

I have been wandering about on this forum for awhile now, and posting just a bit. I decided it was time to post a couple of calls that I have made.  I have been making calls for several years now, and buy a lot of supplies from Al, at THO Game Calls. He has been encouragiing me along. Thanks Al.

This frist call is made from a piece of Juniper, which is a wood that is very prolific out here in the West. I picked up a piece from a friends wood pile, and had to work to find a piece that would turn. This is what I got.

Here is a pretty piece of Cocobolo with a THO soundboard.

Lastly, a piece of Manzanita that is a scrub bush that grows out here in the West. It splits very badly when drying so it is a problem to find a piece of wood big enough to make a call from. This piece took quite a bit of cutting and triming from a big old 5 inch dry limb.

I hope you find my calls interesting and I would very much like to hear your comments, both good and bad.
Braz

Hawks Feather

Lynn,

I like the second call the best - based on the size and shape.  I also like the third call.  While not being unique it has clean lines and just looks good to me.  The first call is the one that I like the least.  Shape doesn't do anything for me, but I give you credit for being able to turn it with that "what knot" in there.

Jerry

Brad H

I bought my last batch of howler reed material from Al. I also recommend buying from there.

Your calls look good, but the juniper is a little harsh with that big bite out of it. I think I still have a couple pieces of actively colored juniper in my basement sealed, dried, and ready to be turned. If you want, I'll send ya some to play with next week when I get home from work.

Brad

FinsnFur