• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.

Frogman tries turkey hunting . . .

Started by Frogman, April 28, 2009, 07:57:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Frogman

I have very little experience turkey hunting.  My hunting buddy Mike is really good at it and enjoys calling turkeys for others.  He took me out this morning for a hunt.  Walked my ass off!!  I got up at 4:30 AM this morning 4/28/09 and met Mike at his place at 5:15.  We were in the woods before 6:00 AM.  Climbed a really steep hill all the way to the ridge.  It was just turning light when we got to the ridge.  As we started out the ridge we heard turkeys gobbling.  Most were quite a ways off but three of them were not too far away.  So we headed out the ridge toward them.  When we got close enough to start thinking about setting up we saw a white gobbler head a little ways out in front of us.  But it didn't move, it was a decoy, and then we saw the hunter sitting up against a tree.  He was set up between us and the birds.  We had to turn and go in another direction toward one of the farther birds we had heard.  We walked down off the ridge toward those other birds.  They weren't gobbling anymore.  We got too close. As we were heading toward where we had heard the last gobble we jumped a bird that flew away out in front of us.  We finally set up in a promising looking area and Mike did some calling.  Here is a photo from where I was sitting . . .

I could see this old tree stand from my location . . .

After about 45 minutes with Mike calling from about 30 yards behind me we decided to move on.  I learned that turkey hunting is a lot different than trying to call coyotes.  Mike doesn't call very much.  He just does a short hen sequence then stays quiet for 10 minutes or more.  Then another sequence. 

We walked quite a ways around the hill.  By now it was about 8:00 AM and we were not hearing any gobbling??  We did another  set up here . . .