• Welcome to FinsandFur.net Forums.

Best calls/sounds this time of year?

Started by cityslicker, May 12, 2010, 06:15:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

cityslicker

I plan on getting out this weekend to hunt a new farm I have permission to hunt. I know there are yotes there, as recent as last weekend a turkey hunter had one come in and chase off some birds. Should I be using coyote vocals more since they are more territorial now or stick to distress sounds? I'm very new at this so any advice is welcome. I will be using the Primos Lil Dog.

alscalls

Many folks are against hunting them this time of year......But for us here in WV it seems it is necessary.......
Though coyote vocals can produce very well at times, for a new hunter I would suggest bird distress......Or Fawn distress.
Call on for 5 min and off for 5-10 min......waiting and being still as possible.....
try and force the coyotes to come almost down wind of your location......Giving them a place where they have to show themselves if they want the down wind advantage.
                                                                            Good Luck!
AL

http://alscalls.googlepages.com/alscalls

golfertrout

try some pup distress right now and watch the wind. plus put a buddie out in front of you about 100 yards and have him sit still and dont let him call unless neccesary

shaddragger

Straight up pup distress seems the most popular around here this time of year.
Take your kids hunting and you won't have to hunt your kids!
Allen

JohnP

Can't go wrong with the pup distress, regardless of the time of year.
When they come for mine they better bring theirs

cityslicker

I used fawn and pup distress on my Primos Lil Dog. It didn't take long...

Ech Hunter

BAMATIGER

Why do they come to a pup distress?  Is it food or protection?
Brett Easterbrook
Deer Park, AL

FinsnFur

Territorial response but through instincts to protect the young, as with any animal really.
btw, welcome to the site Bamatiger